Tuesday, July 19, 2022

Diocesan Appointments 2022 : Archdiocese of Dublin (2)

If the diocese can’t fund programmes to train members of the laity the future looks bleak. Pictured, Archbishop of Dublin Dermot Farrell. Photo: Dylan Vaughan Photography
Cabra and Cabra West

Very Rev. Paul Thornton appointed P.P. Cabra & Cabra West and Episcopal Vicar withresponsibility for the Deaneries of Howth, Fingal South East & Fingal South West.

Rev. Joe Keegan recently ordained appointed C.C. Cabra & Cabra West.


Very Rev. Richard Sheehy appointed Co-P.P. Brackenstown and Episcopal Vicar with responsibility for the Deaneries of Blanchardstown, Fingal North & Maynooth.

Ballygall/ Ballymun Road/Drumcondra /Glasnevin/ Iona Road Grouping of parishes

Very Rev. Joe Ryan appointed Moderator of the Grouping of Ballygall, Ballymun Road

Drumcondra, Glasnevin and Iona Road,

Very Rev. Kieran Dunne appointed C.C. Glasnevin.

Foxrock & Newtownpark Ave.

Very Rev. Gerry Kane appointed P.P. Foxrock & Newtownpark Ave.

Very Rev. Dermot Leycock to retire as P.P. Newtownpark Ave.


Rt Rev. Ciarán O’Carroll, V.G. appointed P.P. Booterstown in addition to P.P. Donnybrook.


Very Rev. Michael O’Grady appointed P.P. Donnycarney.

East Wall

Very Rev. John Ennis appointed P.P. East Wall

Navan Road

Very Rev. Liam Ó Cuív appointed P.P. Navan Road.


Very Rev. Joe Whelan appointed Adm. Killester.

Clontarf (St John’s) /Clontarf (St Anthony’s)/Dollymount

Very Rev. John O’Brien appointed Moderator of the Clontarf Grouping of Parishes – St John’s,

St Anthony’s & Dollymount and Co-PP Clontarf (St John’s).

Very Rev. Peter Byrne appointed T.A. St Anthony’s & St John’s Clontarf and Dollymount

Very Rev. Richard Shannon appointed T.A. Dollymount.

Finglas/Finglas West/Rivermount

Very Rev. Richard Hyland appointed P.P. Finglas West & Rivermount in addition to P.P. Finglas.

Very Rev. Martin Hogan appointed C.C. Finglas, Finglas West & Rivermount.

Very Rev. Éamann Cahill retires as Adm. Finglas West and appointed T.A. Finglas, Finglas West & Rivermount.


Very Rev. Gary Darby appointed P.P. Kilcullen.

Very Rev. Niall Mackey retires as Adm. Kilcullen and appointed T.A. to the Grouping of Bray

Kilmore West

Very Rev. Joe Jones appointed Moderator Kilmore West in addition to Bonnybrook.

Very Rev. Padraig O’Sullivan appointed Co-P.P. Kilmore West.


Very Rev. Brian McKitterick appointed Co-P.P. Clondalkin Grouping of Parishes



Very Rev. Michael Murphy appointed Co-P.P. Avoca.


Rev. Frank Drescher appointed Adm. Kilnamanagh & Castleview.

Malahide/Yellow Walls/Kinsealy/Portmarnock

Very Rev. Martin Noone appointed Moderator of the Grouping of Malahide, Yellow Walls,Kinsealy & Portmarnock.

Very Rev. Kevin Doherty appointed Co-P.P. Malahide.

Ballymun St. Pappins

Very Rev. Kevin Moore appointed C.C. Ballymun St Pappin’s.

Dún Laoghaire/Glastule

Very Rev. Ciarán Enright appointed C.C. Dún Laoghaire & Glastule and resident in Monkstown.


Very Rev Philip Curran appointed P.P. Lucan & Esker.

Rev. Ubaldo Muhindo appointed C.C. Lucan, Esker, Doddsboro & Adamstown.

Very Rev. John Hassett appointed C.C. Esker & Doddsboro & Adamstown.

Lucan South

Very Rev. Aidan Kieran appointed P.P. Lucan South.


Very Rev. Tom Kennedy appointed P.P. Castledermot.


All appointments came into effect on the weekend of the 09/10 July, unless already