Tuesday, July 19, 2022

Diocesan Appointments 2022 : Archdiocese of Dublin (1)

New Archbishop of Dublin makes waves - on women Deacons, Priests, same-sex  unions and clerical celibacy - Anglican Way Magazine


Rev. William O’Shaughnessy appointed Moderator of the Grouping of Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield.

Very Rev. Colin Rothery appointed C.C. to the Grouping of Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield and to undertake further studies.

Rev. Michael Shortall appointed T.A. to the Grouping of Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield.

Wicklow, Kilbride and Barndarrig

Very Rev. Donal Roche, V.G. appointed P.P. of the Parishes of Wicklow, Kilbride and Barndarrig.

Meath Street

Very Rev. Eugene Taaffe appointed P.P. Meath Street in addition to P.P. James’s Street.


Very Rev. Michael Carey appointed Adm. Porterstown in addition to P.P. Blanchardstown.

Very Rev. Paul Ward to retire as Adm. Porterstown and appointed T.A. Porterstown.


Rev. James Caffrey appointed Co-P.P. Balally.

Harold’s Cross

Very Rev. William King appointed P.C. pro-tem Harold’s Cross.


Very Rev. Owen Lynch (retired) appointed T.A. to the Grouping of Bray Parishes



Deacon Noel Ryan appointed Diocesan Director of Diaconal Formation in addition to Dundrum, Ballinteer & Meadowbrook.

St Mary’s Pro-Cathedral

Deacon Tom Groves appointed to St Mary’s Pro-Cathedral and Assistant Diocesan Director of Diaconal Formation.

[Very Rev. John Gilligan to remain as Diocesan Director of the Permanent Diaconate.]

Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield

Deacon Victor Okafor appointed to the Grouping of Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield.

Clondalkin/Bawnogue/Deansrath/Neilstown/ Rowlagh and Quarryvale

Deacon Derek Leonard appointed to the Clondalkin/Bawnogue/Deansrath/Neilstown/Rowlagh and Quarryvale Grouping of Parishes.


Christopher Okereke appointed PPW Finglas/Finglas West/Rivermount.

Saule Cameron appointed PPW Clondalkin/Bawnogue/Deansrath/Neilstown/ Rowlagh and Quarryvale Grouping of Parishes.

Christina Malone appointed PPW Springfield, Brookfield and Jobstown Grouping of Parishes.

Natalie Doherty seconded to the Office for Mission and Ministry for catechetical development work within the Office.


Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield

Very Rev. Pat McKinley Moderator of the Grouping Springfield, Jobstown & Brookfield granted sabbatical leave.


Rev. Finbarr Neylon C.C Kilbarrack/Foxfield granted sabbatical leave.

Harold’s Cross

Very Rev. Alex Conlan, P.P. granted sabbatical leave.

All appointments came into effect on the weekend of the 09/10 July, unless already indicated.