Monday, July 31, 2023

Diocesan Changes 2023 - Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora (July 2023)

Season of Creation in the Galway Diocese – Eco-Congregation Ireland

“Living active faith communities that provide an enriching spiritual space and a genuine pastoral support for people on the journey of life is our dream. These appointments take place against the backdrop of many current challenges at parish level. Decline in faith practice and vocations to the priesthood mean that the way things have been is not the way they will be in the future. 
As a Diocese we are actively engaging with people and priests to creatively respond to these challenges and to develop a plan to breath new life into our faith communities. In certain areas changes to the service provided by the local priest will inevitably follow. 
One priest simply cannot now do what two or three priests did in the past. I am confident that parishioners will be sympathetic and generous when it comes to such changes.

I pray that with God’s help those taking on these new responsibilities will provide us with wise and dedicated leadership. I wish to thank the priests involved who have been so generous in taking on these roles, especially those who do so in addition to other responsibilities. I pray that they will be happy and fulfilled in their new appointments.

I am conscious that we also owe a debt of gratitude to those Priests who are retiring from positions after a life time of service.  Free from the burden of office, I am sure they will continue to provide invaluable service in many areas throughout the Diocese. 
Thank you for all the work you have done over the years. I wish you health and happiness into the future. Let us pray God’s blessings on the work ahead.” (Bishop Michael Duignan)

Very Rev Msgr Peter Rabbitte PP VG while remaining as Parish Priest of the Cathedral to also become Parish Priest of St Patrick’s Parish replacing Very Rev Patrick Whelan PP (Retiring) (from 30th July 2023)
Very Rev Michael Dean Mc Loughlin to replace Very Rev Gerard Jennings PP (Retiring) as Parish Priest Salthill (from 31st of August 2023)
Very Rev Barry Horan PP while remaining as Parish Priest of Clarinbridge to also become Parish Priest of Craughwell (from 30th June 2023)
Very Rev Martin Whelan to replace Very Rev Michael Dean Mc Loughlin PP as Parish Priest Moycullen (from 31st of August 2023)
Very Rev Kevin Blade MSC to replace Very Rev Tony Horgan MSC as Parish Priest Tirellan (from 1st August 2023)
Is é an tAthair Daniel Gallagher a bhí ina riarthóir ar Pharóiste an Spidéil, atá anois ceaptha ina shagart paróiste ar Pharóiste an Spidéil (ó 31 Lúnasa 2023)
Rev John Gerard Acton, CC while remaining as curate at the Cathedral to replace Very Rev Martin Whelan as Diocesan Secretary and Moderator of the Curia along with acting as Diocesan Master of Ceremonies (from 31st August 2023)
Rev Charlie Sweeney MCS CC, Salthill to become curate Oranmore Parish (from 31st August 2023)
Rev Anastasius Ezennata newly appointed part-time Chaplain to the Bons Secours Hospital, Galway to be curate serving St Patrick’s Parish and the Cathedral Parish. (from 17th August 2023)
Rev Noel Gillespie SMA to be priest available pro tem to the East Galway City Grouping of Parishes (Mervue, Ballybane, Renmore, Castlegar and Doughiska) (from 31st August 2023)
Very Rev Martin Whelan will replace Very Rev Barry Horan as Judicial Vicar at the Galway Regional Marriage Tribunal (from 31st August 2023)
Very Rev Martin Whelan will replace Very Rev Ian O Neil, PP VG as  Diocesan Chancellor (from 31st August 2023)
Very Rev Dr Hugh Clifford PP to replace Very Rev Joe Roche PP as Diocesan Nominee to the Board of Directors, COPE Galway.