Friday, October 28, 2016

Candidates announced for next USCCB president, vice president

Image result for United States Conference of Catholic BishopsThe bishops of the United States have nominated ten of their brother bishops as candidates to serve three-year terms as president and vice president of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

The ten are
  • Archbishop Gregory Aymond of New Orleans
  • Archbishop Charles Chaput, OFM Cap, of Philadelphia
  • Archbishop Paul Coakley of Oklahoma City
  • Cardinal Daniel DiNardo of Galveston-Houston
  • Bishop Daniel Flores of Brownsville
  • Archbishop José Gomez of Los Angeles
  • Archbishop William Lori of Baltimore
  • Archbishop Allen Vigneron of Detroit
  • Archbishop Thomas Wenski of Miami
  • Archbishop John Wester of Santa Fe
Cardinal DiNardo is the conference’s current vice president, and the vice president typically - though not always - is elected president. 

The election will take place during the bishops’ November meeting in Baltimore.

No comments: