Wednesday, June 27, 2007

51 new archbishops to receive pallium

The Vatican has provided a complete list of the metropolitan archbishops who will receive the pallium from Pope Benedict XVI at a ceremony in the Vatican basilica on June 29, the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul.

The pallium is a liturgical vestment symbolizing the authority of a metropolitan archbishop. A white woolen strip decorated by six black crosses, it is worn across the shoulders, outside the chasuable. It is worn only my archbishops, and only on formal liturgical occasions.

The vestment is made from wool that is shorn from lambs that are blessed by the Pope, in another ancient Roman tradition, on the feast of St. Agnes, January 21.

These vestments are stored in the Vatican basilica until the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul, when the new metropolitan archbishops travel to Rome to receive them, in a ceremony that accents the communion between these prelates and the Holy See.

This year 46 newly appointed archbishops will receive the pallium during the Friday ceremony at the Vatican. Another 5 new metropolitan, who are unable to come to Rome, will receive the pallium in their own archdioceses.

The archbishops participating in the June 29 ceremony will be:

Jose Antonio Eguren Anselmi of Piura, Peru

Robert Le Gall O.S.B., of Toulouse, France

Dominic Lumon of Imphal, India

Douglas Young S.V.D., of Mount Hagen, Papua New Guinea

Barthelemy Djabla of Gagnoa, Ivory Coast

Cyprian Kizito Lwanga of Kampala, Uganda

Angelo Bagnasco of Genoa, Italy

Paul-Simeon Ahouanan Djro O.F.M., of Bouake, Cote d'Ivoire

Oswald Gracias of Bombay, India

Javier Augusto del Rio Alba of Arequipa, Peru

Edward Ozorowski of Bialystok, Poland

Romulo Geolina Valles of Zamboanga, Philippines

Calogero La Piana S.D.B., of Messina-Lipari-Santa Lucia del Mela, Italy

Antonio Muniz Fernandes O. Carm., of Maceio, Brazil

Rafael Romo Munoz of Tijuana, Mexico

Jose Guadalupe Martin Rabago of Leon, Mexico

Pedro Aranda Diaz-Munoz of Tulancingo, Mexico

Rogelio Cabrera Lopez of Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico

Evariste Ngoyagoye of Bujumbura, Burundi

Filipe Neri Antonio Sebastiao do Rosario Ferrao of Goa and Damao, India

Paul R. Ruzoka of Tabora, Tanzania

Gerard Pettipas C.Ss.R., of Grouard-McLennan, Canada

Paul Cremona O.P., of Malta, Malta

Marcel Madila Basanguka of Kananga, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Thomas Christopher Collins of Toronto, Canada

Paolo Romeo of Palermo, Italy

Ricardo Ezzati Andrello S.D.B., of Concepcion, Chile

Orlando Antonio Corrales Garcia of Santa Fe de Antioquia, Colombia

Jose Alberto Moura C.S.S., of Montes Claros, Brazil.

Dionisio Guillermo Garcia Ibanez of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba

Albert D'Souza of Agra, India

Kazimierz Nycz of Warsaw, Poland

Csaba Ternyak of Eger, Hungary

Odilo Pedro Scherer of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Richard William Smith of Edmonton, Canada

Pierre d'Ornellas of Rennes, France

Reinaldo Del Prette Lissot of Valencia en Venezuela, Venezuela

Hipolito Reyes Larios of Jalapa, Mexico

Geraldo Lyrio Rocha of Mariana, Brazil

Oscar Julio Vian Morales S.D.B., of Los Altos, Quetzaltenango- Tontonicapan, Guatemala

Terrence Thomas Prendergast S.J., of Ottawa, Canada

Joao Bosco Oliver de Faria of Diamantina, Brazil

Brendan Michael O'Brien of Kingston, Canada

Buti Joseph Tlhagale O.M.I. of Johannesburg, South Africa

Joseph Edward Kurtz of Louisville, US

Leo Cornelio S.V.D., of Bhopal, India

The 5 archbishops who will receive the pallium in their own archdioceses are:

Denis Komivi Amuzu-Dzakpah of Lome, Togo

Denis Kiwanuka Lote of Tororo, Uganda

Telesphore George Mpundu of Lusaka, Zambia

Vincentius Sensi Potokota of Ende, Indonesia

John Choi Young-su of Daegu, Korea


No responsibility or liability shall attach itself to either myself or to the blogspot ‘Clerical Whispers’ for any or all of the articles placed here.

The placing of an article hereupon does not necessarily imply that I agree or accept the contents of the article as being necessarily factual in theology, dogma or otherwise.

Sotto Voce

No comments: