Tuesday, February 21, 2017

MADAGASCAR - Erection of the Diocese of Maintirano and appointment of the first Bishop

Image result for diocese of Maintirano (Madagascar)On February 8, 2017 the Holy Father erected the new diocese of Maintirano (Madagascar), with territory taken from the Diocese of Tsiroanomandidy, Mahajanga and Morondava, making it a suffragan of the metropolitan area of Antananarivo. 

The Holy Father appointed His Exc. Mgr. Gustavo Bombin Espino, O.SS.T., as the first Bishop of Maintirano (Madagascar).

The new diocese of Maintirano, includes the entire civil region of Melaky, composed of 5 cities: three in the Diocese of Tsiroanomandidy: Maintirano, Ambatomainty, Morafenobe; 1 in the Diocese of Morondava: Antsalova; 1 in the Diocese of Mahajanga: Besalampy and borders: to the north with Mahajanga, and the south with Morondava and southeast with Tsiroanomandidy. 

It is a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Antananarivo. 

The present parish church of Maintirano, dedicated to Our Lady of the Assumption, becomes the Church Cathedral of the newly erected diocese of Maintirano.

No comments: